Who am I and what is going on

What I read

Fiction or nonfiction? They both have their place on my bookshelf.

I love to read, plain and simple. I love books of all kinds. Non-fiction is my usual reading but I can get absorbed in a good fiction if its well written and interesting to me. For me fiction is an escape from the real world; I read it when I’m stressed out, life is feeling complicated and I need to ‘get away’. Thankfully I haven’t been feeling the need to read fiction lately.

In the non-fiction line I would have to say I read mostly self-help or educational books. Currently I am working on a book called “Happiness is a Choice” by Barry Neil Kaufman; its quite good. Mostly it is material I have seen in other books by other authors before but he presents it in a very easy to read style. This is the book I bring with me when I know I’ll have to wait somewhere like the waiting room at the doctor’s office. I can read a few pages and put it down for days or a couple weeks and still pick it up and start where I left off without feeling I missed something or forgot what I was reading. See I can’t do that with a novel… if I am really interested in the book I keep reading until I reach the end. It becomes an obsession. Housework doesn’t get done, I don’t go out and if its super-good I don’t even sleep until I’ve finished the story.

Magazines are great reading too. I like the short informative articles which make it easy to put down after only a few minutes of reading. Also I enjoy the Chicken Soup for the Soul books. Often they are tear jerkers so I try to only read these at home but they are true stories (or so the writer of each story claims), they’re short and there is great meaning to them. They are usually, also, ‘feel good’ stories… great for a pick-me-up on a bad day. And there are so many of them geared for all different kinds of people. I personally own Chicken Soup for the Woman’s Soul, for the Scrapbooker’s Soul and Chicken Soup for the Mother and Daughter – given to me as a gift from my oldest daughter.

Like I said, I love to read and have a great collection of books. Right now they are packed away in boxes since I moved a few months ago. I hope to soon have them out on shelves where I can enjoy them. There are many I haven’t even read yet so there is no fear of me running out of reading material any time soon. And I look forward to pulling out my reference books like Photoshop for Dummies and my Dream Dictionary. I can’t imagine living my life without books; lots and lots of books.

Comments on: "What I read" (1)

  1. i wood read all the time , specely today

Leave a Reply

